Publications

Impact of Proposed "PIP Choice" Law in Michigan

Each state in the U.S. requires licensed drivers to purchase a minimum amount of auto insurance to protect themselves and other drivers in the case of an auto accident. If a driver becomes injured from an accident, they often must sue the at-fault driver’s insurance company to collect damages, which can be a lengthy and costly process. In no-fault states, such as Michigan, the right to sue other drivers is limited because the injured party’s own insurance company pays for damages. No-fault states require drivers to purchase a minimum amount of personal injury protection (PIP), which covers medical expenses and lost wages resulting from an auto accident.

Each state varies in the amount of PIP coverage they require drivers to purchase, ranging from $3,000 to over $50,000. However, if a driver incurs costs beyond the amount of coverage purchased, he or she must pay out-of-pocket for these additional expenses. Currently, Michigan is the only state that requires each driver to purchase lifetime PIP coverage, which provides benefits to pay for reasonable and necessary treatments related to an auto accident. This report discusses how proposed legislation to change the minimum amount of coverage required by each driver would impact Michigan.

View PDF